Home Q & A Forum
Options

Can anyone please tell me whats wrong with this picture?

I just purchased it on Ebay. Be for the purchase I cheeked the die marks with the photos of 1892 P on PCGS website. It all looked good. Can this be a real error? I do plan to send it in for grading. Please tell me your thoughts.
Thanks,
Steve Boyer

Best Answers

• Options
    OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 5,861 ✭✭✭✭✭

Welcome to the forum. Your picture is to small to see from here. Do you have a link to the eBay listing?

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options
    WilliamFWilliamF Posts: 832 ✭✭✭✭✭

Also, probably better not send it in for grading as it would come back listed as damage, and in that condition it is not worth the money/time it would take to get it slabbed...

."It's a dangerous business... going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don't keep your feet, there's no knowing where you might be swept off to" -JRR Tolkien_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________Outstanding BST transactions as a seller, buyer and trader with: ----- mustanggt, Kliao, claudewill87, MWallace, paesan, mpbuck82, moursund, basetsb, lordmarcovan, JWP, Coin hunter 4, COINS MAKE CENTS, PerryHall, Aspie_Rocco, Braddick, DBSTrader2, SanctionII, Histman, The_Dinosaur_Man, jesbroken, CentSearcher ------ANA Member #3214817

Answers

• Options
    WilliamFWilliamF Posts: 832 ✭✭✭✭✭

Hey Steve, lets take a look at these pics a little bigger, I don't see any red flags as far as authenticity goes, it appears to be genuine to me but unfortunately it is damaged and not an error, looks like somebody gave it a good whack with a chisel or some other sharp instrument, as you can see by the dent/cut and the raised metal on either side of the hit...