Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Newbie Garbage Pail Kids Collector

craigconleecraigconlee Posts: 4

Yes, I am a total noob doing this. Recently, I found my complete 2nd and 3rd Garbage Pail Kids Collection that I had collected when I was 11. I have a million questions as I am looking at how much they are selling for.
1. Why is there a huge disparity in prices for the same card?
- Is it because those cards are not certified?
2. If certified and in Mini Condition, what is the likelihood of those cards selling?
- Are people really buy them at that cost?
3. I have noticed for one of my cards costs $100 to be graded and certified. The 2nd and 3rd edition has a total of 167 cards. That is a lot of money. Do you recommend only certifying those with a high return?

Thank you for your patience.

Comments

• Options
    RufussCkingstonRufussCkingston Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭✭

Just replace every instance of Sportscard with Garbage!!

https://sportscardsrock.com/sport-card-grading-for-beginners/

• Options
    dontippetdontippet Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭✭

If you collected these as an 11 year old, they are probably not worth grading. Most cards come out of the pack at an average of maybe PSA 8. When I found my collection of series 3, 4, and 5 sets a couple years, I sold them as sets on ebay for a good return. I didn't even bother trying to see if any were worth grading. For your series 3 cards, I'm gonna guess that very few cards would be worth grading and be worth more than $100 in PSA 9 condition. Series 2 may be a little different, but if you grade a few of the cards, then you've broken up the set.

Again, I would sell them as raw complete sets on ebay. Also, on ebay, there is a button to search for sold cards, not just asking prices. That is very, very valuable information.