Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Help with question about digital tech.

We have all been burned buying trimmed vintage cards online. it makes it hard to buy the higher priced raw vintage cards on Ebay and l am sure it keeps sellers from getting higher prices .l know there is a small variance in the size of some of the older vintage cards. My question is with all the tech out there could Ebay not have a computer system that measures the uploaded photo's dimensions and gives you a readout in percent of whether the card has a high or low probability of being trimmed . But with so many different cameras and scanners could it work ?

Comments

• Options
    burghmanburghman Posts: 805 ✭✭✭✭

I don’t see it happening in an accurate enough way to depend on, and I work in tech so that hurts a little to say. It could potentially confirm the proportion of length and width, but there’s no structure around images to fall back on - some listings have postage stamp sized pictures while others have huge pics. Also, many listings are taken at angles, not head on. Sure, maybe something could be done to say “issue X should have a white/black border no smaller than Y pixels”, but there are plenty of borderless issues out there. There are also some releases that have a known size variance.

I just can’t see a solution based on uploaded images that would be reliable enough to use to block listings, especially when eBay can charge someone for a 3rd party to more definitively make the same determination.

Jim

• Options
    JoeBanzaiJoeBanzai Posts: 11,212 ✭✭✭✭✭

@habs007 said: