Home Q & A Forum

Physical damage or broken die?

I am very new to coin collecting. Searching through my inherited collection I found this coin, does anyone have an opinion on its condition? Is it physical damage?

Answers

• OldhoopsterOldhoopster Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭✭✭

Sorry,but it's post mint damage (pmd)

It is a well circulated coin. The best way to learn how to grade is to practice. Use the following link and give it a shot. Post your thoughts, and we can give you honest feedback

https://www.pcgs.com/photograde/#/Washington/Grades

Member of the ANA since 1982
  • Not so sure what goes into grading. From the link you provided, the condition of what is described as MS65 has more prominent detail than the coin with MS66. You can see more detail in Washington’s hair and eye in the MS65 than MS66. And MS66 has more “toning” than MS65 and the “toning” increase as the grades increase. Is having heavy toning more important than the coin being pristine as if it were just minted? .

• CentSearcherCentSearcher Posts: 226 ✭✭✭

@Jakefromstfarm said:
    Not so sure what goes into grading. From the link you provided, the condition of what is described as MS65 has more prominent detail than the coin with MS66. You can see more detail in Washington’s hair and eye in the MS65 than MS66. And MS66 has more “toning” than MS65 and the “toning” increase as the grades increase. Is having heavy toning more important than the coin being pristine as if it were just minted? .

While that MS65 does seem to have more hair detail than the MS66, you've got to take into consideration that they are two different years (1939 and 1957). From what I've read and noticed, the US mint makes minor adjustments to the die occasionally, sometimes making certain details sharper and others smoother. When grading coins by comparing with photos of others, it's best to use one of approximately the same year.