Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

Help Deciding Between these Two British Coins

I am being offered both of these coins for $37 USD/each. I have zero knowledge on British coins, but I think they are beautiful.

Both are British Fourpence. One is from 1702, and the other from 1834.

Which would be the better choice between the two?

Thanks in advance :)

Comments

• Options
    BjornBjorn Posts: 529 ✭✭✭

I think value wise there is not a whole lot in it, but both are fairly good deals. I would lean towards the 1702 as I see William III pieces less often than William IV. Also, it looks slightly more attractive to my eyes, despite being lower grade. How original is the William IV coin?

• Options
    StellaStella Posts: 689 ✭✭✭✭

Buy both and start a set of as many rulers as you can accumulate. ;)

More seriously, choose the coin that you enjoy more. I personally do not care for the spot on the 1834, but pick the coin you would be happier with.

Coin collector since childhood and New York Numismatist at Heritage Auctions.
  • Options
    inkdiverinkdiver Posts: 55 ✭✭

@Bjorn said:
    I think value wise there is not a whole lot in it, but both are fairly good deals. I would lean towards the 1702 as I see William III pieces less often than William IV. Also, it looks slightly more attractive to my eyes, despite being lower grade. How original is the William IV coin?

Thanks for your reply. Interesting to know that coins with William III are less common than William IV coins. As to originality, I do not know on either. Comparing both to online pictures of other coins, it seems both are original, and don't see any red flags (I am no expert though on British coins).

• Options

@Stella said:
    Buy both and start a set of as many rulers as you can accumulate. ;)

More seriously, choose the coin that you enjoy more. I personally do not care for the spot on the 1834, but pick the coin you would be happier with.