Home Q & A Forum
Options

Be Nostradamus

PapiNEPapiNE Posts: 281 ✭✭✭

What is a key factor or two when considering a relatively inexpensive coin with/for future great potential? Why you may wonder...two nights ago I stumbled upon a website that recommended keeping an eye out for certain dimes. Dimes had not caught my fancy...yet. Lo and behold I had two of those dimes in my uncirculated sets; the 1996-W. Then I learned about full bands and how they affect value. I don't think mine are quite FB so I was disappointed. Today I jumped all over an Ebay PCGS certified listing for one in MS68FB mostly because of my experience two nights ago. I am not inclined to impulsive buys but I couldn't resist this one; low mintage and the top of its class. I'm also not inclined to bust up my sets of which I have over 100 starting from 1968. Other than the missing mint mark sets, are there other hidden gems in these sets?

I'm a novice and I've grown somewhat tired of looking at Morgans and Peace dollars. I have the latest redbook, cherry pickers guide, and rare coin magazine but dang that's a lot of data. Is there a publication that addresses my initial question of where and what to look for so my sons and grandkids will appreciate the selections I've made? Is it as simple as quality and mintage or is it a talent you pick up with time, i.e., patience grasshopper? A key date pub maybe?

USAF veteran 1984-2005

Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    MsMorrisineMsMorrisine Posts: 32,219 ✭✭✭✭✭

There is no such thing as a coin Nostradamus

Also, if the heirs are not collectors, coins will be just another chore to dispose of as an asset

Current maintainer of Stone's Master List of Favorite Websites // My BST transactions
  • Options

@MsMorrisine said:
    There is no such thing as a coin Nostradamus

Also, if the heirs are not collectors, coins will be just another chore to dispose of as an asset