Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Bigger ROI of a PSA 10 base card vs PSA 9 higher end?

McNeelyMcNeely Posts: 5
edited November 29, 2021 11:39AM in Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

All,

I’m new to this forum, and I’m fairly new to collecting football cards. In researching how to invest, my take-away was that a PSA 9 of a higher end card (e.g. Topps Chrome or Donruss Optic) would have a higher return on investment (ROI) than a PSA 10 of the base set (Topps or Donruss).

However, I think I learned the hard way that PSA 10 of the base set has a better ROI. A couple of weeks ago, two Rob Gronkowski rookies (a PSA 10 Topps and a PSA 9 Topps Chrome) were selling on eBay for the same price ($125). I bought the PSA 9 Chrome. This week, I checked eBay. A PSA 9 Chrome is still selling for $125, while the PSA 10 Topps (base) is selling for $170.

So, my question is, is it always more advisable to buy a PSA 10 of a base brand vs. a PSA 9 of a higher end of that brand? Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    daltexdaltex Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭✭✭

No. There is always a supply and demand curve and the ROI will be different for each card. For that matter, there is no guarantee that the ROI of a 9 will be higher than the ROI of the same card in 3.

A few things you didn't ask: how cards fluctuate over "a couple of weeks" says nothing about the long term trend for the card. Anyone can ask anything on eBay. Someone asking $170 may only be able to sell for $125. The best ROI is to buy a low grade card with excellent eye appeal based on the technical grade. For example a 1953 Bowman Mantle with an exceptionally well-placed pinhole. If you can pay 1 money for a card in a 1 holder that looks like a 9 you mat be able to get 5 or 6 money when you go to sell.

• Options
    craig44craig44 Posts: 10,555 ✭✭✭✭✭

no. I will always go for true rarity over conditional rarity. for a few reasons:

true pops will never be known