Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

New To Collecting - Varieties/errors?

Hello,

I'm new to collecting, and found some coins that I am not sure about. They could be possible varieties/errors, or they could be nothing. I have a 2004 Wisconsin quarter, and a 2005 Oregon quarter where it looks as though washington has a bald spot. Not sure if it's anything or just wear. I have another 2005 Oregon which looks like it has a cud in the A in CRATER. Let me know what you think, and if I found anything. That you in advance for your help!

Comments

• Options
    WaterSportWaterSport Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 21, 2021 7:46AM

Welcome to the forum. Varieties and errors are an exciting field but I can tell you from years of experience – its not easy. Most folks cannot even tell you what the difference between a variety vs. and error. So make sure you understand that first. Next, I would highly recommend you do some research be it on line or the old fashion way – buy a book or 2 on the subject. While searching pocket change you may run across a few things now and then, but you need to understand the coining process and then you can better understand what you are looking at rather than thinking you have something you don’t. Oh, yeah, and you will need some sort of magnification.

As far as what you have posted it may be a cud – but then again, on a circulated coin it could just be a hit moving metal around and filling in the hole. It’s really hard to tell without knowledge, and magnification. Also the bald spot could be a die variety or yet again, die wear. I am not a quarter collector so here again, someone who knows quarters is better apt to help you.

WS

Proud recipient of the coveted PCGS Forum "You Suck" Award Thursday July 19, 2007 11:33 PM and December 30th, 2011 at 8:50 PM.
  • Options
    291fifth291fifth Posts: 23,944 ✭✭✭✭✭