Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

1969 Topps Rak Paks: Legit?

Someone posted these on Net54, do they look legit and are the correct cards in each section?

Comments

• Options
    MisterTim1962MisterTim1962 Posts: 318 ✭✭✭

Bogus. The Grote, Beckert and Hughes pack gives it away. The first series in 1969 were cards from 1 to 109. No way would Beckert (#171) be in a first series rack pack.

• Options
    handymanhandyman Posts: 5,244 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 8, 2021 3:02AM

Yeah seems odd several are from 1-3rd series mix match. I vote no good but I am not a pro. And the punch hole in the last pack looks wrong

• Options
    1963ellsworth22and101963ellsworth22and10 Posts: 153 ✭✭✭
    edited November 8, 2021 10:47AM

I should have added that the owner now also believes the 1969 Topps Rak Pak with mixed series cards is bogus, he bought that one separately from the others and believes it is fake after closely examining it. ETA, the 1969 Topps second series is apparently 110-218 so the last two Rak Paks have all second series cards showing.

• Options

very interesting. A lot more info available these days than 15-20 years ago. I had bought a 69 rack with rod carew way back and steve ultimately said it was bad but it took a lot of deliberation back then. now it wouldn't even be considered.

question for the group, the op says he is going to ask for a refund from 22 years ago .......... thoughts?

• Options
    IronmanfanIronmanfan Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭✭

@beachbumcollecting said:
    very interesting. A lot more info available these days than 15-20 years ago. I had bought a 69 rack with rod carew way back and steve ultimately said it was bad but it took a lot of deliberation back then. now it wouldn't even be considered.

question for the group, the op says he is going to ask for a refund from 22 years ago .......... thoughts?

I think all reputable dealers should offer lifetime guarantees

IMF