Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Will digital cards end grading as we know it?

Random Saturday morning thought. I was looking at Barry Sanders autograph cards and noticed a few "digital cards" being sold on ebay. I assume there is some type of NFT aspect to it. I'm a newbie when it comes to the NFT stuff so I don't really know.

If the digital cards take off, does this mean that grading will become less important in the hobby? I'm not even sure how grading would even be necessary for digital card but maybe I'm missing something.

Mike

Comments

• Options
    ReggieClevelandReggieCleveland Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭

Digital cards have their own, separate space in the hobby. It's not a zero sum game. I think both digital and physical will continue to grow in popularity in their own ecosystems with their own sets of pros & cons. Not needing to grade a digital card is just one such aspect. But physical cards are here to stay. The hobby has never been more lucrative for manufacturers.

Arthur

• Options
    ndleondleo Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭✭✭

Art - I would hope physical cards stay as the main part of the hobby. However the overall trend in the world in general is towards digital. Heck I'm in process of scanning my entire collection so I can view them digitally rather than dragging out the golden case.

I worked at a major DVD replicator in the mid-2000's. When I started the parking lot looked like a high-end luxury card dealer. Two years later I was auctioning off all of the assets in the replicating facility. While we all knew that streaming was coming, the DVD biz collapsed on the anticipation of streaming. Change can come quicker than we expect.

I personally think digital is more of fad but I also thought Bitcoin was fad, so I'm a poor prognosticator of the future.

Mike
  • Options
    ArtVandelayArtVandelay Posts: 647 ✭✭✭✭