Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

PSA Grading

Good morning, I am new in collecting graded cards and getting cards graded for my PC. I had sent a card to get the card and auto graded, which came back 9 on the card and 10 for the auto. Would this be comparable to the same card that only had the card grade and no grade on the auto, or is the auto grade irrelevant?

Comments

• Options
    yankeesmanyankeesman Posts: 945 ✭✭✭✭

In my observation it's pretty subjective. The auto grade can matter to some folks, especially for lower grade autos. Where I've seen it matter is in the registry sets. I believe the PSA/DNA registry sets go by auto grade for ranking, at least they do with mine. I've only got a few autos that have graded below an 8 and they were pretty jacked up (mostly from a glossy card where the sharpie auto doesn't "stick" to it and has breaks in the autos ) so I'm not sure how much credence really goes into it from a collector standpoint. My 2 cents anyway.

Don Mattingly, Yogi Berra, Thurman Munson, Brian McCann and Topps Rookie Cup autograph collector
    www.questfortherookiecup.com
  • Options
    pab1969pab1969 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭✭✭

Is it a modern card or vintage? If you got those grades on a vintage card then congratulations. I collect vintage auto graded cards. I personally don't care what the card or auto grades are, only that the card is presentable and the auto is neat and legible.

• Options

@pab1969 said:
    Is it a modern card or vintage? If you got those grades on a vintage card then congratulations. I collect vintage auto graded cards. I personally don't care what the card or auto grades are, only that the card is presentable and the auto is neat and legible.

It is a modern card - 2021 Zach Wilson

• Options
    swish54swish54 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭✭

For me personally, I don't care about getting the auto graded. Getting it authenticated is what matters to me. It does matter to some people though.

• Options