Home Sports Talk
Options

Trent Dilfer in hot water

doubledragondoubledragon Posts: 23,034 ✭✭✭✭✭

Trent Dilfer, the ex-NFL quarterback that led the Baltimore Ravens to a Super Bowl win, is now the coach of a high school football team and he's in hot water for shoving and yelling at one of his players, roll the footage!

Comments

• Options
    perkdogperkdog Posts: 29,523 ✭✭✭✭✭

No idea what happened but I’m sure the kid punked him off, but the bottom line is Dilfer is an idiot for getting that emotional at that level. Outside of NFL or College there is no need to get extremely fired up over anything involving High School sports. If I’m a High School coach and a kid is that much of a punk he just won’t play and I would just smile and say “Enjoy the sidelines”

• Options
    craig44craig44 Posts: 10,543 ✭✭✭✭✭

completely agree with perk. totally unacceptable at the high school level.

I will tell you, if any staff at a school i send my kids to handled my child that way, there would be a significant tussle with me directly after.

George Brett, Roger Clemens and Tommy Brady.

• Options
    thisistheshowthisistheshow Posts: 9,386 ✭✭✭✭✭

Nothing wrong with tough coaching, but the reality is that you can't put your hands on a kid. Unless there was an incident preceding this one where that kid was attacking another, and the coach was removing him, there is no excuse. Dilfer could have still told the kid to sit down, etc without touching him.

• Options

@craig44 said:
    completely agree with perk. totally unacceptable at the high school level.

I will tell you, if any staff at a school i send my kids to handled my child that way, there would be a significant tussle with me directly after.

100000000% agreed

• Options
    MCMLVToppsMCMLVTopps Posts: 4,616 ✭✭✭✭✭

Dilfer, aka "The Idiot" should be fired immediately. What he did in the video could easily be considered a Class A misdemeanor in the state of Tennessee. He released the following statement: source MSN.