Home U.S. & World Currency Forum

Thinking of starting a confederate currency collection

I have some basic questions I am hoping forum members can help me out with. Before I decide on pursuing a collection of confederate notes I’d like to get a sense of where the market is now… Is it red hot like US coins? Who are the dealers that specialize in confederate currency? What are the best websites that sell better quality pieces? Do Fricke stickers command a premium when it’s time to sell? What are the best books to get to do research? Is there a resource that has survival estimates? Is there a reliable price guide?

I am asking a lot of questions because I have been focusing on Liberty Seated dollars for the past 7 years and I have very little experience in currency… Thanks in advance for any information you may share with me! Please feel free to reply here or via PM.

Comments

• Steve_in_TampaSteve_in_Tampa Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭✭✭

I would start here, at Pierre Fricke’s website. He is considered the expert and could confidently and accurately answer all of your questions and concerns. He’s a super nice guy too. https://www.buyvintagemoney.com/

Personally, I went a different direction collecting Confederate paper money. I have a few authentic Confederate notes, but I love this 1954 Cheerios reproduction collection. This is what Ronnie Romonda wrote about the set - “Cheerios Premium money was issued in 1954. For 25 cents and a Cheerios box top you received nine notes and an album. Cheerios is probably the best of all the older reproductions. Cheerios claims to have issued more Confederate currency then the Confederacy.”

• CrustyCrusty Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Steve_in_Tampa - Thanks for taking the time to respond. I will definitely check out his website and reach out to him. I also enjoyed seeing your cheerio set. Had no clue they even made such a thing…. Very cool!

• tomtomtomtomtomtomtomtom Posts: 535 ✭✭✭✭