Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1000% newbie question re: 1987 Half Dollar

yankeeno7yankeeno7 Posts: 9,242 ✭✭✭

Total newbie question here so my apologies in advance. Ive seen youtube videos of people talking about the 1987 Half Dollar in high grades selling for high dollars (1K-4K). With that said, there are tons of mint sets and proof sets for sale on ebay for under $10 each shipped. Why are people not grading the half dollars for the high grades and high dollar return?

Thanks for input!

Comments

• Options
    KurisuKurisu Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭✭✭

A lot of modern half dollars are worth quite a bit in MS67 or MS68...not an easy thing to find! These are practically untouched. https://www.pcgs.com/prices/detail/kennedy-half-dollar/125/most-active

Coins are Neato!

"If it's a penny for your thoughts and you put in your two cents worth, then someone...somewhere...is making a penny." - Steven Wright

• Options
    MsMorrisineMsMorrisine Posts: 32,203 ✭✭✭✭✭

even today's mint sets have coins that are not mark free. that is why.

I see pcgs has graded 1 (one) 1987 P Kennedy Half Dollar as MS68 with none better. That one seems to auction in the thousands. the rest below it not.

look up info on specific coins on CoinFacts. you will see.

Current maintainer of Stone's Master List of Favorite Websites // My BST transactions
  • Options
    jesbrokenjesbroken Posts: 9,290 ✭✭✭✭✭