Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Grading on edges

NaithGNaithG Posts: 21

Hi all. I’m new to having cards graded so apologies if I’m asking something obvious here but I really don’t understand how cards can be graded when they clearly have really poor edges? I’ve seen some cards that I think look like they’ve been cut with a blunt spoon and they’re getting 9’s or 10’s?! I’ve read that grading firms mark down for printing errors so I would think that this would come under the same thing?
I have loads of original Topps Star Wars that I purposely haven’t had graded as I assumed they would grade badly. I’ve noticed PSA don’t se to mind but I’m not sure about other firms like SGC? Hopefully I’ve enclosed a pic of that I mean. I would have assumed this card would be nowhere near a 10.......

Comments

• Options
    RufussCkingstonRufussCkingston Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭✭
    edited May 16, 2021 6:49AM

I think it has to do with how they were originally issued. If it was like O-pee-chee, where the default was a rough edge, then a 10 would be with a rough edge. Maybe they were made in Canada?!

• Options
    82FootballWaxMemorys82FootballWaxMemorys Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited May 16, 2021 7:47AM

PSA is more kind to O-Pee-Chee than any black bordered cards. Their "policy" seems non congruent to me.

^ no not my card. Image direct from PSA's 1973 O-Pee-Chee Baseball Population Report. click image to go to the page.

While many O-Pee-Chee's do appears to have been cut with old dull box-cutters in a dark room some are much nicer than others. Was not easy to find the one I wanted that did not have an eye appeal reducing cut (at least on from of card). Glad I pulled the trigger last Spring on my 70's O-Pee-Chee "grail"

Unless otherwise specified my posts represent only my opinion, not fact.

• Options
    edited May 16, 2021 8:48AM

@RufussCkingston said: