Home Q & A Forum

Seller photos and etiquette

bagofnickelsbagofnickels Posts: 349 ✭✭✭✭

Can someone instruct me if it is deemed acceptable to use the seller images of a coin once you have purchased the coin? Im not referring to selling the coin but simply for forums and the like. Should I just ask each seller for each purchase or do I just credit them? I have never really been a part of a hobby like this where frequently the thing I'm am purchasing is imaged better than I can do by the seller.

Thanks!

Comments

• emeraldATVemeraldATV Posts: 3,966 ✭✭✭✭✭

My ethics guide me in the, "you own it" direction.
    When you stated you can't capture an image as well as the seller, this came to mind.
    "CAN'T MEANS WON'T"
    "Never give up"
    If I sell a coin, I send a flash drive of photo's of the coin sold, weather the buyer wants it or not.
    I am a graphic designer (Fact) and not because I have a computer, like some.
    When a add, book, or logo is created a flash drive of the artwork is customary for any further reproduction.
    At no extra charge.
    Hope this helps.

• YQQYQQ Posts: 3,264 ✭✭✭✭✭

maybe customary, but not legal to sell or even give away for anyone other than the creator of the image.
    Unless it is agreed to in writing, Copy Right prevails.
    there are exceptions for use in education.

Today is the first day of the rest of my life
  • bagofnickelsbagofnickels Posts: 349 ✭✭✭✭

@emeraldATV said:
    "CAN'T MEANS WON'T"
    "Never give up"

Yes thats true in this situation. I will have to practice to hone my photography skills.

I think im just going to ask the sellers who I think take very good photos when I buy the coin if I can use their images if I credit them and don't use them for profit. They can always say no and I will respect that.

Ps. Thank you guys for responding.

• winestevenwinesteven Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭✭✭