Home Q & A Forum
Options

To slab or not to slab?

Hello. I have inherited several hundred $20 Liberty double eagles ranging in date between 1861 to 1928. I would like to sell some or perhaps all of them but I do not know who to trust and I am no expert in grading these beauties. They are all circulated but all appear to be in good to very good shape (AU 58 +/-). Some are already slabbed. My question is with this much on the line, should I go ahead and have the rest slabbed so that I receive fair value for the sale?

I appreciate any help and suggestions. Thanks.

Tracy

Best Answers

• Options
    MsMorrisineMsMorrisine Posts: 32,203 ✭✭✭✭✭

only slab the better date and mintmark ones

the common, circulated ones are going for a low premium over gold value and would not benefit from slabbing. likewaise for low grade ones.

what do you have already slabbed and what are the grades?

Current maintainer of Stone's Master List of Favorite Websites // My BST transactions
  • Options
    MarkKelleyMarkKelley Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭✭✭

We're talking about a lot of money here, so don't be in too much of a hurry. Find a reputable coin dealer near you who can pre-screen your coins and advise you which will benefit from a slab and which will be sold as bullion. He can also handle the submissions for you. You can afford to make it worth his time. These coins are going to bring $1800 and up for each.

• Options

well, I was going to give an idea for value... or how to find the value... of each so you don't get ripped off by someone greedy.

I'd say if you had to buy the really common ones it'd be at least $1900 to buy each, and then up from there.

of course, the price you get to sell them will be lower.

definitely do not be in a hurry to sell. take some time and you can unlock value.

Current maintainer of Stone's Master List of Favorite Websites // My BST transactions
  • Options
    ifthevamzarockinifthevamzarockin Posts: 8,498 ✭✭✭✭✭

Welcome to the forum! :)