Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Rookie here

TexhomaTexhoma Posts: 6

I recently bought a 1960 Topps Stan Musial graded NM 7 that a flashlight shines through.

It's the only 1960 I own.

Is that typical of the set?

Comments

• Options

• Options
    blurryfaceblurryface Posts: 5,136 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 14, 2021 4:16PM

very, very unmusial!

i gotta hear the backstory on how this series of events even transpired...

i've honestly never tried to shine a light thru a card. a flip, sure. but never the card itself.

• Options
    emaremar Posts: 697 ✭✭✭✭

Hi welcome.
    I'm not an expert on this & possibly way off base, however I believe different cardboard stock was used at different factories.
    I have a '69 topps & OPC that are the same way. Both graded by PSA.
    I tried researching it & found that to be the best resolution

• Options
    nam812nam812 Posts: 10,540 ✭✭✭✭✭

I only have a few graded 1960 cards, and I just checked them with a flashlight. The light did not pass through any of mine.

• Options

Thank you all. We were without electricity down here in February for 60 consecutive hours. So I was selling a few cards on ebay and used flashlights all the time. That's when I noticed the light through my pricey new Musial card. I could even read backside print on the front side of the card

• Options

I wonder if any of the '51 Mickeys were on that stock?

• Options

How do graders identify reprints? I just checked at ebay and they have a bunch of 1960 Topps. I know for sure I didn't pay reprint price for that card...

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p2380057.m570.l1313&_nkw=Topps+1960+reprints&_sacat=0

• Options

@Texhoma said:
    How do graders identify reprints? I just checked at ebay and they have a bunch of 1960 Topps. I know for sure I didn't pay reprint price for that card...

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p2380057.m570.l1313&_nkw=Topps+1960+reprints&_sacat=0