Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

The German grading system translated

neildrobertsonneildrobertson Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited April 9, 2021 9:46AM in World & Ancient Coins Forum

I have been collecting German coins for almost 10 years now. Over that time, I've slowly developed a familiarity with their grading system. I'm at the point where I probably buy more German coins from dealers and auctions that are graded via the German adjectival grading system than I do graded by PCGS or NGC. I thought I'd write out my take on the translation from the German system to the US Sheldon scale as I see it. I have seen a number of translations on dealer websites as well as the NGC website. I think they are all missing a few things, and probably over simplified.

I've found that a good understanding of the grading culture can help when navigating websites like MA-Shops. MA-Shops does have a built in English translation on their site, but the grading translation is kind of crude. I prefer to stay on the German side so I can see how coin grades and descriptions were written originally, before translation.

Here is a simple graphic I made showing general correlations between adjectives and grades, which I describe more at length below.

In the German system, there are 5 main adjectives: Gutes (G), Schoen (S), Sehr Schoen (SS), Vorzueglich (Vz), Stempelglanz (St). Those 5 adjectives frankly aren't enough for an adjectival grading system. You can see by the broad bands on my graphic that a single word covers a large swatch of grades. In practice, graders and dealers also include some additional nuances in language to further differentiate coins. People will commonly straddle grades, like writing S-SS, and Vz-St. To further differentiate, they will also use the word "fast", which is pretty equivalent to using "about" or "almost" in the US adjectival system. If a coin is fast Vz, then it is on the low side of Vz or nearly misses the cut of being Vz.