Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Help me grade these Football Cards (1979 - 1982)

Have a number of football cards sitting in a box and I think these are the ones with a little value based on the PSA Price Guid - worth getting officially graded and thoughts on grade?

Comments

• Options
    Bosox1976Bosox1976 Posts: 8,536 ✭✭✭✭✭

I'd save your money - I don't think you have anything higher than a 5. Nice star power, and nice memories. But a card saver or top loader is more the call for this group.

Mike
    Bosox1976
  • Options
    burghmanburghman Posts: 810 ✭✭✭✭

I'm no expert in those years or specific players, but there are quite a few dinged corners, creases, and edge / surface issues in those pictures. Not sure you'd fare better than PSA 5 or 6 on them - maybe on the Too Tall, though it has a pretty bad corner ding - so grading costs may exceed the sale prices.

Jim

• Options
    flcardtraderflcardtrader Posts: 788 ✭✭✭
    edited February 23, 2021 8:02AM

These would all fall into the category of "well loved" cards.

While well loved cards aren't particularly good candidates for grading, they do tell a story that a Gem Mint card could only dream about. As Bill Murray says in Caddyshack after a conversation with the Dalai Lama, "so you got that going for you".

flcardtrader@yahoo.com
    Website
    Shopify Store
    Ebay Store
  • Options
    76collector76collector Posts: 986 ✭✭✭✭✭

Great cards man. If they were 50's and 60's cards or older I'd say absolutely go ahead and grade them. But being late 70's/early 80's cards there is a pretty big supply of them available in the higher grades, and therefore lower grades aren't worth the time/effort/money to get them graded. But like others said, don't be discouraged and throw them out, they are cards of some legends. Put them in a card saver, or top loader, and enjoy.

jeff

I cannot hit curveball. Straightball I hit it very much. Curveball, bats are afraid.
    Collecting: