Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Grading Strategies

Hello everyone, I'm brand new to the wall

Like many, I've recently rekindled my interest in my collection. I'm the classic 50 year old that was buying and immediately storing cards/sets in the late 70's/early 80's. Some older stuff in the 60's that not in as great a shape but the cards from 70's and especially the early 80's in excellent physical condition (been stored in sheets or hard holders since I got them. (also don't really comprehend yet how much the photo being off-center will impact the grading to a card in otherwise excellent condition?)

I have done a ton of research on PSA about grading / populations / auction prices, etc... have inventoried the majority of my collection and have ball park expectations regarding expected prices based on grading results.

And that is my question, how do you dip your toe into the grading process for the first time??? Not sure where to jump in. Start with some less valuable cards to calibrate my eye for grading? What was your experience, tips of a rookie? Part of me just wants to "eye ball" what I think are one or two really excellent condition rookie cards (Montana, Elway, Marino, Taylor, etc...), pay more initially to have a couple of my best cards graded, see if they are anything close to a 9 or 10 and fumble through the selling process for the first time. MAYBE use those proceeds to fuel the process and increase my involvement, etc...

Anyway, have very much loved organizing and inventorying...so many great memories. Appreciate any and all advice, wisdom, experience shared. Thank you.

Always looking for 1950's Graded Banks Cards

Comments

• Options
    blurryfaceblurryface Posts: 5,136 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited February 2, 2021 6:38AM

welcome aboard.

pics first and foremost. rest is just talk, what if's and baseless opinions til then.

shoot us some cards that represent the average condition of what you think you'll be subbing.

• Options