Home Q & A Forum
Options

1938 Wheat cent almost uncirculated Red with die clash

Has anyone ever come across anything clashed with a 1938 Wheat? I can see some lettering under the microscope that looks like AMER and a shape next to the LIBERTY portion on the obverse. I'm brand new to collecting and I am not sure if it's worth submitting to PCGS to have them check it out. I wouldn't even know where to start with that submission form anyway. It reads like a VCR manual. LOL Any help would be greatly appreciated. I wish I could post a pic here.

Comments

• Options
    silverpopsilverpop Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭✭✭
  • Options

Awesome point. I didn't know I could post a photo. So here's a few. I drew some lines around what are clear impressions on the face of the coin. They aren't die scratches or surface scratches. At first I thought I was matrixing the images but as I move the coin around and change lighting positions the impressions are the same and more clear. Thanks for looking at the pictures!

• Options

• Options
    OldhoopsterOldhoopster Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭✭✭

Its very difficult to determine anything from your pictures. A shot of the full obverse might help. Minor die clashes rarely add a significant premium to throw value of the coin. Maybe a few bucks if it's strongly clashed. The full obverse pic might provide enough info.

I would wait before sending it in.

Member of the ANA since 1982
  • Options