Home U.S. & World Currency Forum

My First Paper Purchase: 1776 Colonial

MonsterCoinzMonsterCoinz Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited September 1, 2020 2:52PM in U.S. & World Currency Forum

First, I am strictly a coin collector and have never purchased paper, not so much as a star note. But I wanted something to frame in my office and I thought what better than a piece of currency that's dated to our country's founding.

What little I know about these is that the colonies issued their own currency before we had a federal mint. I would love to know why some are numbered and what that means. And if I did well or if this is a pretty banal example to own.

www.MonsterCoinz.com | My Toned Showcase

Check out my iPhone app SlabReader!

Comments

• Scooter007Scooter007 Posts: 115 ✭✭✭

I have zero knowledge about it But I like it… very cool 👍

• JimnightJimnight Posts: 10,767 ✭✭✭✭✭

Nice!

• ashelandasheland Posts: 22,612 ✭✭✭✭✭

Very cool, I want something colonial eventually, too..

@sellitstore & @SaorAlba …… Good information, I had zero knowledge on these before … Thanks for sharing 😀

• AlexinPAAlexinPA Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭✭✭

Here's the only one I have...................

• TitusFlaviusTitusFlavius Posts: 317 ✭✭✭

That's a very presentable example of a note that's high on my want list, too. Since you're a coin collector, you may find the denominations in thirds, and sixths, odd, since the Spanish milled dollar was physically divided into eighths (bits, or reales in Spanish).