Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

1984 Baseball Cards - Don Mattingly and Production

olb31olb31 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭✭✭

Just reviewed the 1984 POP report for Don Mattingly, the main card from this set.

1984 Donruss PSA 10 = 283, Total graded = 7304

1984 Fleer PSA 10 = 386, Total Graded = 3981

1984 Topps PSA 10 = 825, Total graded = 11681

I have no knowledge of scarcity, but it appears that the 1984 Fleer product is much harder to come by, by a lot. Donruss appears to be double and Topps triple produced. In fact there are 700 less Fleer PSA 9's than the Donruss. This doesn't look close to me. Fleer looks way under valued or Topps and Donruss way over priced.

Really tough to find unopened Fleer from 1984.

Work hard and you will succeed!!

Comments

• DeutscherGeistDeutscherGeist Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭✭

I appreciate you looking up and then sharing the statistics with us. Mattingly is my personal favorite too, so this thread immediately got my attention. As we have seen, scarcity is not the sole driving force of the prices. We try and analyze these numbers, but ultimately, collectors simply want what they want. Mattingly is not even in the HOF, yet his cards behave as if he is in. Bo Jackson is popular once again, though he does not even qualify for the HOF as he did not get his 10 year minimum.

I want to note here that the 1984 Topps Tiffany, Nestle, and OPC could also be looked at. The Topps Tiffany seems to be his best card with the Donruss a very close second. Both those cards in gem mint condition would swing upwards with greatest velocity once Mattingly gets voted in the HOF.

"So many of our DREAMS at first seem impossible, then they seem improbable, and then, when we SUMMON THE WILL they soon become INEVITABLE "- Christopher Reeve

BST: Tennessebanker, Downtown1974, LarkinCollector, nendee
  • hyperchipper09hyperchipper09 Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited June 29, 2020 10:09AM