Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

The volatility on EBAY on many cards is a real problem.

One day a 1987 Tiffany Mcgwire sales for $1,000, the next day it goes for $700, then $500, back up to $700. This isn't the only card with this volatility, there are many others. As a CPA, I like some volatility, but more on the side of consistency, with slight upticks. While it makes the hobby a little more exciting, it creates a lot of unknowns.

Work hard and you will succeed!!

Comments

• krisd3279krisd3279 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭✭

Not accounting for any sort of artificial inflation by nefarious people I can say for certain that any time there is a Mattingly auto or numbered card that I am bidding on that price is going to get inflated past what most people would consider "reasonable". I think that is the nature of any type of auction. If someone finds a specific item that they want for their collection they are willing to pay more than someone that is just looking for financial gain. I know I pay more than I should and that I won't get my money back any time soon if ever, but I want what I want and I'm willing to pay for it.

Kris

My 1971 Topps adventure - Davis Men in Black

• doubledragondoubledragon Posts: 22,542 ✭✭✭✭✭

I understand what you mean with volatility. Sometimes a card might go for cheaper than I expected, and sometimes it takes off like a rocket. It's got to the point that when I enter an auction, I just don't know what the heck to expect.

• JoeBanzaiJoeBanzai Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭✭

What's the problem?

People love sports cards. Some people are idiots, some are thieves and some are great human beings.

Spend what you are comfortable with and don't worry about the rest.

2013,14 and 15 Certificate Award Winner Harmon Killebrew Master Set and Master Topps Set
  • 80sRockNut80sRockNut Posts: 67 ✭✭

As long as I paid the $500, I am good with the other sales. ;)

• PNWcollectorPNWcollector Posts: 300 ✭✭✭✭
    edited May 26, 2020 7:39PM