Home World & Ancient Coins Forum

NYINC show report

NapNap Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited January 19, 2020 12:09PM in World & Ancient Coins Forum

Headed home now after a nice show.

I have been coming to NYINC for about 7 years now. This was my longest trip. Usually go for 2 days. This year I stayed in Manhattan Wednesday to Sunday. Longest time I’ve ever been at a show. Have some coin fatigue at the end of the show but was a great experience and the longer stay was definitely good for my growth as a numismatist.

Wednesday was the Triton auction. Went to the auction with @EVillageProwler. I’ll let him tell his auction story but the short of it is that we both failed to get our lots of greatest interest. Prices were strong in the British material, which is my area of collecting. I was interested in a portrait penny of Edward the Elder but my bid was defeated. Oh well. Show hasn’t even began yet, so will have other opportunities to blow my budget. Went to dinner with @EVillageProwler at a British pub, fitting for British coin enthusiasts.

Thursday was professional preview and early bird day. In the past I have resisted the $125 entry fee for the early bird day. This year, I buckled in and paid it. In the end, I think it was worth it. The bourse was much quieter than the public days, and I was able to have first access to new material. As it would be, that mattered, as I ended up purchasing two coins from CNG that were not yet listed on the web-

Edward IV of England groat, first reign (1461-1470), London mint

John de Balliol of Scotland penny (1292-1296), uncertain mint (probably Berwick)

Both of these were on my list as monarchs of the British Isles for the impossible set of all British kings. I call it impossible since I am starting in Anglo-Saxon times and going to the present, with some early petty kings’ coins being so rare as to have no known examples outside of museums. But one never knows what still may be dug out of the ground.