Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

Hey Stork can you identify these coins ?

I manage money. I earn money. I save money .
I give away money. I collect money.
I don’t love money . I do love the Lord God.

Comments

• Options
    StorkStork Posts: 5,205 ✭✭✭✭✭

I'm not very good at these.

The one on the left is upside down. It's a 'Bu' with silver content depending on era made. The dating is based on the positioning of the upside down blossoms on either side (both, one, or neither). Looking at it as oriented the one along the top and second from right is positioned in an inverted fashion vs. the others. So depending on where it is on the other side will determine era and value.

The other three are 'Shu' and I am completely out of my depth on the dating. I can recognize a tell for the Meiji version (pre 'modern' coins), but other than that will need to break out the Hartill book.

Any chance of better photos/both sides? I can make a better stab at it later.

• Options
    BillDugan1959BillDugan1959 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭✭✭

I can crop and play with the light, but could not rotate the bu:

• Options
    KliaoKliao Posts: 5,458 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 26, 2019 6:42PM

Hey @stork maybe I can help you out with these.

These are Japanese silver bar money/coins. These were used when there were still samurais around.

The smaller ones are One Shu Gin. They look like Kaei version (1846-1867)
    https://en.numista.com/catalogue/pieces10811.html

As for the larger Bu Gin, it is the Tempo version (1601-1867)
    https://en.numista.com/catalogue/pieces16403.html

Young Numismatist/collector
    75 Positive BST transactions buying and selling with 45 members and counting!
    instagram.com/klnumismatics

• Options
    StorkStork Posts: 5,205 ✭✭✭✭✭

Saved from digging out a book! The inverted sakura is in the 'q' position (and with only my untranslated JDNA that does correspond to the era...no reverse needed after all). Cool!

• Options
    Insider2Insider2 Posts: 14,452 ✭✭✭✭✭