Home Sports Talk

19 year old Bianca Andreescu defeats Serena to become the first ever Canadian to win a Major Title

2»

Comments

• garnettstylegarnettstyle Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭✭
    edited September 17, 2019 6:28AM

@perkdog said:

@grote15 said:
    I know very little about women's tennis but I'll take the side of a guy with tenniscoach as his username.

Can’t make a much better point than this 😂

To grote..

Because we all know you are a liberal...So of course you are going to side against me and Margaret Court. LOL...But nice try....

As i mentioned in years past, I am a former college tennis coach and i am a member of a HALL OF FAME in the sport of tennis. I would bet tenniscoach is not ;)

IT CAN'T BE A TRUE PLAYOFF UNLESS THE BIG TEN CHAMPIONS ARE INCLUDED

@TennisCoach said:
    Navratilova 37 grand slam championships in women's doubles

:D:D:D:D You lose the debate when you try to make known incorrect totals . She won 31 womens doubles titles...NOT 37.

edited September 17, 2019 6:02AM

@Tabe said:

@garnettstyle said:
    The real reason why the media like ESPN, and the other liberal networks, dont recognize Margarat Court as the greatest, is because of her right-leaning religious/political beliefs. She is also a ordained Minister.

Nah, she's not recognized that way because: 1) Others have surpassed her; 2) Competition today is much tougher; 3) She hurt her own legacy by getting rolled by Bobby Riggs while ranked #1.

Thanks for letting us all know how little you know about tennis.
    1. Please list what player/players who have surpassed her?
    2. Prove it that competition is tougher today? You could be right here, but you can say the same thing in any other sport...The old timers are still considered the best ever in all other sports....Hello Babe Ruth? Ted Williams? Ty Cobb? Joe Montana? Jack Nicklaus?
    3. Court was old and past her prime when she played Riggs. Was a exhibition so it meant zero....The match with Billie Jean was fixed.