Home Autographs Forum
Options

Auto question regarding Hank Aaron

RoflesRofles Posts: 752 ✭✭✭✭✭

Hello, I was curious if someone could tell me if I’m crazy or not. I picked up this 1964 Topps giant of Hank Aaron, and I’m considering having him sign it in a private signing for 350$, plus 20$ JSA, and then send it in for dual grading. What are your thoughts? 350$ too much? Would I get that value out of it? Any and all advice is appreciated. No, I don’t want to purchase one off EBay either 😊. I’m not looking to sell it right away, perhaps down the road to pay for college someday. Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    291fifth291fifth Posts: 23,936 ✭✭✭✭✭

If you don't know the answer to the question yourself then you have no business considering spending money on such a project.

All glory is fleeting.
  • Options
    JBKJBK Posts: 14,749 ✭✭✭✭✭

I am not an expert but here are some random thoughts...

Is that a rare card? If so, will the sig detract from the value?

Why would you pay for JSA and then another service? Also, will JSA put one of those stupid stickers on it? (I hate those). If so, make sure it is on the back.

$350 seems pretty hefty for Hank Aaron, don't you think? What does his sig go for? But, I am sure that is the going rate for a private signing.

Is seems like you will be into this for well over $400. It has to be a labor of love as I don't see you making a profit in many, many years.

Some years ago, I paid Ted Williams through a private signing to autograph a photo that already had three other sigs on it. I felt I had to do it but I knew I might never get that money back. I still have the photo but I'd be surprised if I could get back my original investment.

• Options
    RoflesRofles Posts: 752 ✭✭✭✭✭

@291fifth said:
    If you don't know the answer to the question yourself then you have no business considering spending money on such a project.

I don’t, thank you. I needed to read this to talk myself down from doing it!

@JBK