Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

A CPA and his HOF Baseball and Entertainment Collection (Photo Heavy)

Hi All,

I haven't done this before, but I wanted to share a specific project I have been working on for the last couple of years that I'm excited about. Hopefully, some of you find it interesting.

I am a CPA in public accounting with a tax background. A few years ago, a friend of mine was telling me about a signed check he had of Gene Roddenberry and dug it out to show me. The check was made out to Franchise Tax Board, which is the income tax authority for the state of California. Me being a tax guy, I thought it was pretty cool. So, I thought it would be fun to see if I could track down checks of baseball hall of famers and other celebrities I liked that were made out specifically to either the IRS/US Treasury or state tax authority. I was pleasantly surprised to find that there were checks out there and have been slowly building and adding to my collection.

For the baseball hall of famers, I decided to pair the checks with a HOF plaque postcard and Perez Steele postcard (for those who have a Perez Steele postcard). My wife is crafty and did all of the matting and framing for me. Below is part of my collection that is on display in my office. I will also share some of the specific ones on the wall that I particularly love.

This is my oldest check. It was a check issued by Max Carey in 1927 to the Collector of Internal Revenue. What's neat about this check was that it was issued while he was still playing. $245 was a lot of money back in 1927.

One of my better ones - Joe Dimaggio, made out to Franchise Tax Board.

This one was interesting. I found this check of Jim Palmer. It was made out to the US Treasury for a corporation of his. The interesting part of this was that the seller turned out to be Jim's ex-wife (his 2nd wife), who was selling a bunch of Palmer stuff.