Home World & Ancient Coins Forum

Authentic Roman coins?

Hello everyone, I'm new to Roman coins. In fact, I have just bought my first roman coins, on eBay. Could anyone please help me see if they are authentic Roman coins? Also, could you guys share with me some eBay sellers that you are familiar with and trustworthy?
Thanks a lot!!

Best Answers

• harashaharasha Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited June 11, 2019 6:57PM Answer ✓

They look genuine to me. I am hesitant to make any recommendations, but I think many members of this Forum, including myself, have been quite happy with one of our members, Civitas. For good quality bargain coins, I personally also like Marc Breitsprecher.

Honors flysis Income beezis Onches nobis Inob keesis

DPOTD
  • BillDugan1959BillDugan1959 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭✭✭

Authentic? Yes. Roman? Yes. After 286 A.D.

• KkathylKkathyl Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭✭✭

Those look good to me as well. With Ancients I would stay away from web as you will find way too many cast fakes replicas or damaged coins. I would search the World coin section here and buy direct from dealers. Welcome to forum.

Best place to buy !
    Bronze Associate member

• OldhoopsterOldhoopster Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭✭✭

V Coins is a good online storefront for ancients.

Member of the ANA since 1982
  • SaorAlbaSaorAlba Posts: 7,475 ✭✭✭✭✭

Roman bronze coins issued late during the Roman Empire are almost as common as dirt - they can be found in hoards of thousands of them. Fakes for these coins are not really a problem because the real coins are fairly inexpensive. It is when you get into uncommon or rare coins that fakes become an issue.

Some coins are found in remarkably good condition, I have a late Roman bronze from Constantine that is AU grade - it could have come from an amphora that was buried in a dry environment.

In memory of my kitty Seryozha 14.2.1996 ~ 13.9.2016 and Shadow 3.4.2015 - 16.4.21
  • BillDugan1959BillDugan1959 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭✭✭