Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

Why doesn’t PCGS grade Ancients? Or do they?

I’m a U.S. coin collector primarily. But these are really gaining my interest......latest pick up.

Comments

• Options
    ChangeInHistoryChangeInHistory Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭✭✭

I don't think PCGS certifies ancients. Most collectors of ancient coins prefer them raw. I'm guessing that one grading company is enough to satisfy a limited demand.

• Options
    TopoftheHillTopoftheHill Posts: 180 ✭✭✭

I definitely prefer my hammered and Ancient coins raw...

• Options
    Insider2Insider2 Posts: 14,452 ✭✭✭✭✭

When a TPGS decides to grade a new segment they must make 100% sure that it is done right. That takes a library and "experts."

No brag just an example: Although I had been authenticating varieties, tokens, medals, etc for almost thirty years at three different TPGS, when I joined another and suggested that they do the same as every other small TPGS had been doing for decades - nothing was done. Think of it. A TPGS that claimed to be #1 did not do tokens and limited the varieties they did to perhaps less than a hundred! Thankfully, after a year or two of preparation they added tokens and expanded the variety tier.

Ancients are more complicated than tokens by far. Collectors like to hold their coins which reminds me of what turned out to be a big mistake. At INSAB (the second authentication service and the first grading service) we were approached in the early '80's to start slabbing coins we graded with a photo image inside the plastic "slab." I was totally against the idea because collectors liked to hold their coins! Boy was I wrong! Eventually, after PCGS came along we did what we should have done years before.

• Options
    291fifth291fifth Posts: 23,948 ✭✭✭✭✭

Ancients would require a great deal of investment for a questionable return.

All glory is fleeting.
  • Options

Agree, ATS has it locked up in spite of no guarantees! :(

• Options
    WeissWeiss Posts: 9,935 ✭✭✭✭✭