Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Feeling on Topps extra sets - Now, On Demand, TT, etc.

It seems like Topps is churning out new extra products left and right. Granted, I'm new to the card game - only been back for a year - but between Now, On Demand, Throwback Thursdays, Collaborations, 150 Years of Baseball, and Topps Total, I can't help but feel that they are diminishing the value of short prints, autographs, etc. in their normal sets. I assume that the basic sets will still be the "go-to" when it comes to rookie cards even though these extra sets will be more limited print runs than the basic sets, but all of a sudden autos and relics are everywhere.

What's the board's general feeling on these extra sets? Is an auto from one of these sets less appealing than an auto pulled from Series 1/2 or Heritage? That's the feeling that I get, but I also think that the attraction of an auto pulled from Series 1 is diminished every time they offer a new Topps Now auto... They can literally print as many autos as they want (assuming the player will continue to sign them). And is a /50 pulled from Series 1 diminished every time a /50 makes an appearance in an On Demand set? Am I alone in these feelings, or do some of you guys think "the more the merrier"?

I'm excluding the Living Set here because that's a different concept (all base cards of players throughout history vs. these other extra sets which seem to be entirely current players with autos/relics/SPs sprinkled in).

Jim

Comments

• Options
    doubledragondoubledragon Posts: 23,067 ✭✭✭✭✭

I can no longer keep up with all of this stuff. Every year they need to include some kind of instruction manual for all of the cards of they print.

• Options
    RyansRustRyansRust Posts: 179 ✭✭✭

I agree.