Home Stamps Forum

Long time coin collector with stamp question

MarkMark Posts: 3,520 ✭✭✭✭✭

I've been participating on the coin side of these chat boards since 2001 and so I understand how annoying a newbe question can be. However, I'm hoping you will forgive my ignorance and help me out. I know that the stamp market has been in a long-term decline for years. Both my parents collected stamps and when I inherited them 25 years ago, I (wisely) sold off my father's large collection. But for some reason I kept my mother's collection, which I believe consists in part of UN issued stamps from when the UN was formed until circa the early 1960s. I just uncovered where my (late) wife had stored my mother's collection and the question occurred to me if there is anything in it that I should look for because it is valuable. Yeah, I fully understand how greedy this question makes me sound, but figure any money from the stamps can be spent on my coins. ( :) ) So, thanks very much.

Mark

Comments

• 291fifth291fifth Posts: 23,898 ✭✭✭✭✭

Go to your local library and ask if they have copies of the Scott Stamp Catalog (many libraries do). Find the edition that has the UN issues and check it against what you have. I once had a UN stamp collection but sold it about 24 years ago so I don't have a feel for the current market. Keep in mind that dealer buy prices will be a small fraction of what the catalog lists.

All glory is fleeting.
  • MarkMark Posts: 3,520 ✭✭✭✭✭

@291fifth Good idea about the library--thanks!. I know that dealer buy prices are a LOT less than what the Scott Catalog shows. As a kid, I often wondered why the Scott Catalog was so out of line. Nowadays I wonder why the PCGS Price Guide also seems so off...

Mark

• JBKJBK Posts: 14,640 ✭✭✭✭✭

Pls post if you find any rarities.

Not too long ago I bought a similar collection of UN stamps which I am using for postage on letters mailed from UN headquarters in NYC. I paid 20% of face for them.