Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Pocket Pieces

Raybob15239Raybob15239 Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭
edited January 30, 2019 2:20PM in U.S. Coin Forum

I have been carrying three pocket pieces for a couple of years. They all started out mint state but are getting pretty beaten up. My pocket pieces are a 1971 P Ike, a Teddy Roosevelt medal and Denver Mint medal from a souvenir set. My goal is to see how much wear I can inflict from just being in my pocket as I walk. [Edited to add -- The pocket pieces are usually banging around with my car keys and any other change I may have. Lots of contact marks. I also will take the three pieces in my hand and kind of shuffle them together, like a numismatic take on a fidgit spinner...]

Show me your pocket piece(s)!

Successful B/S/T transactions: As Seller: PascoWA (June 2008); MsMorrisine (April 2009); ECHOES (July 2009) As Buyer: bfjohnson (July 2008); robkool (Dec 2010); itsnotjustme (Dec 2010) TwoSides2aCoin (Dec 2018) PrivateCoin Jan 2019

Comments

• Options

I like the round! (Always have been a fan of Morgans.) Too much sentimental value to risk, so I don't blame you for not carrying it anymore. I had a 1900-O Morgan pocket piece years ago. I once dropped it pulling something out of my pocket and it went down an elevator shaft... only about 3 floors, but it still picked up a big rim ding. I was actually able to get it back after that. Carried it for a year longer and forgot to take it out of my pocket when the suit went the the cleaners and I never saw it again. If I lost any of my current pocket pieces I might be a little disappointed about the Ike and starting over again, but I would not be too upset about any of them.

Successful B/S/T transactions: As Seller: PascoWA (June 2008); MsMorrisine (April 2009); ECHOES (July 2009) As Buyer: bfjohnson (July 2008); robkool (Dec 2010); itsnotjustme (Dec 2010) TwoSides2aCoin (Dec 2018) PrivateCoin Jan 2019
  • Options