Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

1974 Topps Baseball Rack Pack - Resealed?

For those who know something about old Racks and resealing, curious of your thoughts.

Comments

• Options
    georgebailey2georgebailey2 Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭

I am not an expert.
    This would have had to have been a Baltimore baseball card night due to the header.
    Assuming the header is legit, I am not confident that the "traded" cards were issued that early. The fact that the rookie card says "Washington" instead of San Diego would also seem to be a mismatch with a "traded" card.
    The condition of the cards doesn't appear to be that good, particularly the Balor Moore.

• Options
    grote15grote15 Posts: 29,521 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited January 22, 2019 5:15PM

Those were distributed at several ML baseball parks by Topps in 1974 including Baltimore, Detroit and Oakland. They are legit and follow standard Topps collation with cards from one * sheet in header section, cards from one * or two ** sheet in middle section and cards from two ** sheet in the far section.

Traded cards are found in both middle and far sections in a 74 rack and are not uncommon. In 76, they are found in middle section along with other cards from the no asterisk sheets in 1976.

The 74 racks with blue Topps header card should carry a premium vs these team header racks.

This particular rack looks legit to me with standard curling and crazing along the edges but exhibits a fair amount of wear and tear.

Collecting 1970s Topps baseball wax, rack and cello packs, as well as PCGS graded Half Cents, Large Cents, Two Cent pieces and Three Cent Silver pieces.
  • Options
    DragnetDragnet Posts: 635 ✭✭✭

Thanks Tim!!

• Options
    georgebailey2georgebailey2 Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭

So, just out of curiosity, a "Washington" card can appear in the same cell as a "Traded" card?
    I would have thought only "San Diego" cards would have been printed by the time the "Traded" cards came out.