Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

To grade or not to grade?

Hello Folks
First off, I’m totally new to the PSA grading of sports cards and I’m here for all the info I can get and it seems I have came to the right place. What’s you guys take on, At what point is grading not worth it? As in, condition of cards? I have lots of HOF’s and rookies from 60’s thru early 90’s. I have quite a bit of cards and would like to down size some. Graded cards seems to be what everyone’s after and I’m just uncertain, whether or not it’s worth it for me to spend $20 a grade and have it come back a low grade, placing it in a $7-$13 price range. Its obvious that mint 10 is worth it but I’m guessing the majority of mine are a 5, at best. One that comes to mind is a 1975 Topps #5 Nolan Ryan ‘74 highlights, MN10 is around 2k but mine is probably a 4 or 5 and would be worth about $14 lol. I’m just looking for input from you guys that know more about it than I do. Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Options
    markj111markj111 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭

Use bulk submissions. Much cheaper that way.

• Options
    perkdogperkdog Posts: 29,531 ✭✭✭✭✭

It’s 100% your choice. Honestly it works both ways, some guys recommend getting cards graded while others like them raw. For higher dollar cards it’s my personal opinion but I think they should always be slabbed. #1 rule is to have fun and do what you like and can afford.

• Options