Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

Collecting the 1955 Parkhurst hockey set

I've been collecting the 1955 Parkhurst set for over ten years now. I've been fortunate enough to be 5th on the active registry. https://psacard.com/psasetregistry/hockey/company-sets/1955-56-parkhurst/publishedset/46394

I also have developed close friendships with others working on the set. None more than my friend Paul, who has the finest set on the registry. As with many collectors, he doesn't spend a ton of time scanning and uploading cards to the registry. I've always made it a priority to upload images for a couple of reasons. First, I like looking at my set no matter where I might be. Second, I like sharing the cards I have with other interested collectors.

I had been bugging my friend to show off his cards on the registry, and he always said I should do it for him. So this summer he brought his set to me and I scanned his cards. We also did a joint review based on the best cards from our sets. It scored him three upgrades and one for me, so it all worked out. I really liked seeing some of the best 55's in the hobby in hand, and he liked having someone scan his collection.

Here is his amazing set: https://psacard.com/psasetregistry/hockey/company-sets/1955-56-parkhurst/publishedset/13280

This hobby is about $$ and investment sometimes, but it can also be about fun and friendship. I'm always happy to help when I can, and its cool that we can trust one another to build and share our collections. Whether its joint submissions, trust in payment for cards, or all sorts of other favors we do for one another, its good to know I'm a part of a good community.

-Nathanael

Take a look at this beauty...

Comments

• TomiTomi Posts: 643 ✭✭✭

One of the toughest sets in all sports. over 6,000 submissions and only 28 PSA9's and no 10's.