Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

tape and tape stains

What is the best way to remove tape and tape stains from a card? is it even possible? Also, if I grade them, is it a MK qualifier, or automatic PSA-1?....thanks for any insight.

Successful transactions with FavreFan1971, ffishonn, Davemri, Publius, DavidPuddy, frcarvell, recbball, and many others...

Comments

• Options
    Stone193Stone193 Posts: 24,351 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited August 27, 2018 7:56AM

I'm no expert on grading Pete but I would say if a card had tape residue?

It would get the ST qualifier along with the grade assessed based on its other attributes like corners, surface, registration.

Mike
  • Options
    CSUrunandstunCSUrunandstun Posts: 573 ✭✭✭

Thanks Mike...have an opportunity to pick up some 5-6ish vintage but all have tape/stains....if they just get a MK qualifier it makes them a lot more desirable to me...

Successful transactions with FavreFan1971, ffishonn, Davemri, Publius, DavidPuddy, frcarvell, recbball, and many others...
  • Options

...or ST qualifier...LOL...thx

• Options
    GreenSneakersGreenSneakers Posts: 908 ✭✭✭✭

Tape stains often come with some paper loss. Even a tiny bit gets you a PSA1 in a hurry.

• Options
    spanky74spanky74 Posts: 240 ✭✭✭

I can't remember if this card was submitted as a no qualifiers (I don't think it was), but it definitely didn't get a 1, and I don't think it is any higher than a 2 even without the stain.

• Options

Great info...thanks guys (anyone else?)....any way to remove tape/stains safely?

• Options
    miwlvrnmiwlvrn Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭✭✭

As hinted above, a card with tape stains does not typically get a (ST) qualifier (shouldn't ever get a (MK) qualifier because if anything, it would be ST and not MK based on definition), though it does prevent being graded higher than a 2 or maybe 2.5 at the most if the tape remnant is minimal enough.

• Options