Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Sonic Sealing Slabs.

I bought and received a 1964, PCGS, PR68CAM cent today in a slab that pulled apart when I tried to remove the dealers sale sticker. Does PCGS, Quality Assurance at least vacuum cup test the seal integrity before they package a slab and ship it? This particular slab had never been sealed. The slightly hermetic vacuum by closing the slab half, interlocking seal ribs was all that held this slab together. The sealing ribs on this slab had not been sonically melted. They were entirely intact.

I was an Automation Engineer on both toys and medical devices for many years and later a Plant Manager and a V.P. of Manufacturing before retiring. We used a great many Branson sealers on many of the plastic products which I was involved with over many years. Whoever is running a sealer needs to be certified to verify not only the air pressure on the horn, but also listen for the sub-harmonic squeal of the sealer while sealing and watch the seal intensity gauge on the front of the sealer or there is no seal. We either vacuum cup, pull-tested or vacuum tested all of our sealed products by in-process, Quality Assurance before they went to packaging. Apparently, this product was maybe visually inspected (85% accurate) or passed by another form of inspection.

In any event this was an unwelcome surprise which was returned to the dealer at my expense to be corrected. Your processes should be CpK tested, validated, certified and have controls in place to assure seal integrity. Apparently this sealing process is not under very strict, statistical control.

Comments

• Options
    IGWTIGWT Posts: 4,975
    Quality assurance is not as necessary for slabs as for medical devices or toys.
  • Options
    IGWTIGWT Posts: 4,975
  • Options
    It should be. What if this was a $50,000. gold coin and it feel on a concrete floor at a show because it was not sealed?
  • Options
    CameonutCameonut Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭✭✭