Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

1961 Bob Clemente

Hi i just won this item off of ebay and was wondering if I made a good buy? Im new to vintage and trying to learn the most i can. Thanks for your input in advance.
clemente

Comments

• Options
    zep33zep33 Posts: 6,897 ✭✭✭
    nice card - i sure would have paid atleast that much for it - looks like a nice deal to me
  • Options
    stevekstevek Posts: 28,302 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Not a bad looking OC card. You got a decent deal in my opinion.
  • Options
    Thanks guys...newbie question here, How much does the OC hurt the value of a psa graded card? Whats the SMR of this card without the qualifier?
  • Options
    thehallmarkthehallmark Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭
    You know...as an investment, OC cards have value ceilings that others do not.

BUT.....
    As far as OC cards go, this one is gorgeous! I hope you like the card and that it will come to mean something to you because it is a fastastic card for a great price. Well done, sir!!

~D
  • Options
    paleocardspaleocards Posts: 930 ✭✭✭✭
    The rule of thumb is that a PSA 8OC will generally sell between the straight 6 & 7 prices. Since a '61 Clemente books at $75 in PSA 6 and $120 in PSA 7, it looks like you made a good buy. However, the straight 7 rarely reaches the book price. I own one and have tracked closed eBay auctions since October of 2005 and the average hammer for 91 completed auctions on a 1961 Topps #388 Clemente PSA 7 is $88.93, about 74% of SMR.

Here's some data on major Topps HOFer 8OC prices realized on eBay:

1957 Topps #302 Sandy Koufax 8OC (PSA 6: $185, PSA 7: $350, PSA 8: $950)
    Average for 5 completed auctions since 3/15/2006: $218.42

1960 Topps #350 Mickey Mantle 8OC (PSA 6: $300, PSA 7: $475, PSA 8: $1150)
    Average for 12 completed auctions since 11/30/2005: $388.31

1969 Topps #500 Mickey Mantle (yellow) 8OC (PSA 6: $165, PSA 7: $290, PSA 8: $585)
    Average for 28 completed auctions since 11/13/2005: $198.69
  • Options