Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

New member just returning to the hobby

Hey all I've been lurking these forums for the past 7-8 months and finally registered and figured I'd start posting. I did collect cards, baseball and football, from about 1987-1992 but I got out pretty much in 1992 when I graduated high school. I collected all cards but sort of focused on my favorite players Kirby Puckett, Nolan Ryan, Joe Montana, Jerry Rice and ofcourse the 'hot' rookies of the time. I just bought my first house and moved in so my mom says now I can take all my cards out of my old bedroom haha. I have a box of stuff that was my good stuff back then, bunch of Puckett rookies, Montana rookie, 3 Rice rookies, bunch of Barry Sanders rookies, stuff like that, I know it's not worth much anymore especially since none is graded.

I'm now going to focus on stuff I like and always wanted back when I collected before. I going to start a 1991 Topps Desert Shield set, when I collected this was very hot and I remember the price skyrocketing to like $10,000 or more for a set. I've bought several starter lots on Ebay this week consisting of 650 or so cards with some doubles so that will give me a nice base to work on over time. I don't think I'll grade the set just work on it raw in as close to mint condition as I can. I'm also going to work on collecting Joe Montana and Nolan Ryan cards, I do I follow the Nolan Ryan thread on the registery forum.

Well there's my rambling introduction and I hope to hang around and maybe sometime down the road trade/buy/sell with some of you

Comments

• Options
    softparadesoftparade Posts: 9,271 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome! image

I have card # 57 of the Desert Storm Pro Set. Whatever that is, got it from a small collection I picked up for nothing .