Home PSA Set Registry Forum
Options

Help!! Explanation of how set registry weighting works.

I posted a thread on here about advice on set building and there were 70 responses. To all those who lent their advice THANKS. I am new to the graded aspect of collecting, so could someone please PLAINLY explain how the grading works as far as the weighting of the cards versus the completion percentage. Thanks in advance.

Chris

Comments

• Options
    achteyachtey Posts: 304 ✭✭✭
    As far as I can tell, the weighting works like this. You have so many cards in a set. There are commons and there are more difficult cards to obtain, the stars, rookies whatever. Because these cards are harder to obtain, they make these cards worth more in the set. So, a common that is weighted a 1, is the "easiest" to obtain, and the star's rookie that is weighted a 10, is the most difficult. These numbers are used in a formula to calculate the gpa of your set. Don't ask me to give that formula, because I don't know it. lol I hope this helps, I also hope that I'm sumwhat right.

Josh
    The world meets no one half way. If you want it you have to go get it.
  • Options
    murcerfanmurcerfan Posts: 2,329 ✭✭
  • Options
    the best way to look at it this is simplify it.

let's say a set has five cards......one and five are the tough cards so they're weighted a 10 and the rest are weighted 1, there's a possibility of 230 points. if you have all five cards psa 10 you have 100% with a gpa of 10.0. the gpa is the factor for the weights. you just multiply the psa grade by the given weight found in the set composition link. if you only have cards 2,3,4 psa 10(1x10+1x10+1x10)....you have 30 points out of a possible 230. so you might have 60% of the set but your gpa is going to be 30 divided by 230...or 1.3. on the other hand if you only have card 1 and 5 in psa 10 (10x10+10x10)you have 40% of the set but your gpa is going to be 200/230...or 8.7 gpa. hopefully this helped.