Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Countdown to retirement baseball card set

I’m a public school teacher with around 800 more days of teaching. Mostly I love my job but sometimes I feel I’m getting too old for this. With that in mind, I’m thinking about taking a 1988 Topps 792 card set {I paid $2 for the set at a recent show) and ripping a card every day until the box is empty. Maybe that would be motivation for me

Comments

• Options
    FINESTKINDFINESTKIND Posts: 374 ✭✭✭

Sounds like great motivation. :D

• Options
    Tere1071Tere1071 Posts: 163 ✭✭

I'm also a teacher who can't retire until 2021 at the earliest, but may have to keep going until 2024. I think it would be better to add to the collection each year as you'll have more to look at when you retire rather than rip a card to signify your impending retirement. Better yet, if you have to get rid of a card a day, give it to a different student on a daily basis. Then you'd be counting off your days while giving something positive to someone else.

• Options
    markmacmarkmac Posts: 412 ✭✭✭

Good idea. I gave about 200 football cards to the special needs class last year and they loved it. I’m looking at 3 and a half more years. I taught AP Calculus for the first time this year and it just about did me in. I enjoyed teaching and learning the material but the time spent working problems every night and weekend were tough.

• Options

I've been in the office working on "special assignment," basically administrative stuff without the title. The position closed this year and more than likely I'll be returning to the classroom. Once I taught a summer session Econ class and I was in a similar situation, I did hours of prep daily and boy, was I tired at the end. Good luck!

• Options
    Stone193Stone193 Posts: 24,351 ✭✭✭✭✭

@markmac said: