Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Variety help on 1887 IHC

Is this the DDO and would it grade. I would guess 35 or 40. Pictures are not the greatest. But I think there is enough there to make a determination. This would be my first cherry pick. I hope this works, this is my first time posting with the new software.

pic 1
pic2
pic3
pic4
pic5

Comments

• Options
    koynekwestkoynekwest Posts: 10,048 ✭✭✭✭✭
    That is, indeed, the doubled die. You scored a nice one there for sure! Congrats!!
  • Options
    BustHalfBrianBustHalfBrian Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭
    Looks like a 500-dollar-bill to me! I think it grades better than 35/40 - more like 45/50, as long as there's no hidden damage.

Congrats on an excellent introductory cherrypick!
    Lurking and learning since 2010. Full-time professional numismatist.
  • Options
    cmerlo1cmerlo1 Posts: 7,891 ✭✭✭✭✭
    You got it- awesome pick!
    You Suck! Awarded 6/2008- 1901-O Micro O Morgan, 8/2008- 1878 VAM-123 Morgan, 9/2022 1888-O VAM-1B3 H8 Morgan | Senior Regional Representative- ANACS Coin Grading. Posted opinions on coins are my own, and are not an official ANACS opinion.
  • Options
    justcollectingjustcollecting Posts: 190 ✭✭✭
    Thanks everyone. I have a Nikon D3100 camera and a Sigma 150 mm lens I need a copy stand and some lighting and the knowledge on how to use them. I've been going to a flea market looking for a copy stand, that's how I came across this coin. It was in a stack of 8 better grade common IH cents for 24 dollars. Hopefully by this fall I will have everything I need to post some nice pictures.

How can I get the picture to post instead of the link.
  • Options
    seanqseanq Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Originally posted by: justcollecting