Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

"Australia's Sovereigns" book by Andrew Crellin

As I get further and further into sovereigns of the British Empire it seems that there is much information lacking on the rarity of the various U.K. sovereign issues, in particular the Australian pieces. I am considering buying the 2005 reference above, and since the list price is $595 (more than I can buy a sovereign for; but there is one included in the cover, a QEII modern one), I'd really like to hear from anyone who has actually read/owns the book. Yes, I own the Michael Marsh book, and I have a copy of the Quartermaster catalog and have noted their rarity comments in my Marsh.

Is the Crellin volume useful in terms of any rarity information for the Aussie sovereigns? Is it useful in terms of understanding the historical context of the various issues, delving into Mint records, and which ones may have been melted and why (or restruck, for that matter)?

Or, contrarily, is it mostly a pretty coffee table book with a nifty QEII sovereign in the cover as its main attraction? Something in-between? Thanks for any comments. George
VDBCoins.com Our Registry Sets Many successful BSTs; pls ask.

Comments

• Options
    lordmarcovanlordmarcovan Posts: 43,218 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Holy Cow, that's a pricey book. And for such a seemingly narrow niche, too. Perhaps that's one reason it's pricey, but... $595? C'mon! I'd expect it to come with a free sovereign sample for that much! Yow!

Edit- oh, I see there IS one, now, having reread your post. Interesting. That changes things, I suppose. A real gold coin set in the cover does certainly raise the price of a book considerably. Still, one wonders- did they have an edition without the expensive cover decoration (cool though that would be?) That would be more affordable, obviously.

I know little of Aussie sovereigns, but as a collector of a 1901 British Empire Victorian type set, I needed at least one.