Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Colonial coins vs colonial paper money: Which played a more important role during the revolution?

I own two Colonial paper money pieces (and trying to complete a 13 piece set...eventually) and have some interest in colonial coins (although I do not own any). I'm also a student of American history and this question just came up to me.

Which of the two (coins vs paper money) had an overall larger impact on the revolution and why? Paper money was usually issued by the state, while coins came from a large number of different sources. However, the latter were usually in lower denominations, while paper money was issued in various denominations, as it is in our time. These, however, were much higher denominations than coins.

Our, to ask a different question, was the issuance of paper money by the various states important in the revolution?

Dennis

Comments

• Options
    RussRuss Posts: 48,515 ✭✭✭
    Paper money played a greater role because it pissed off mother England.

Russ, NCNE
  • Options
    PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,501 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Paper money helped finance the American revolution so it did play a very important role.

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.

• Options
    AngryTurtleAngryTurtle Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭

<< <i>I own two Colonial paper money pieces (and trying to complete a 13 piece set...eventually) and have some interest in colonial coins (although I do not own any). I'm also a student of American history and this question just came up to me.

Which of the two (coins vs paper money) had an overall larger impact on the revolution and why? Paper money was usually issued by the state, while coins came from a large number of different sources. However, the latter were usually in lower denominations, while paper money was issued in various denominations, as it is in our time. These, however, were much higher denominations than coins.