Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

eBay Australia Makes PayPal Mandatory

"Australian press are reporting that eBay is using Australia as a guinea pig to trial a new policy where all other modes of payment are barred except for PayPal. If successful, eBay will roll it out to other markets."

http://www.australianit.news.com.au/story/0,24897,23515926-15306,00.html
lchobbyco
ANA Life-Member

Comments

• Options
    jsfjsf Posts: 1,889
    forget that
  • Options
    sonoranmonsoonsonoranmonsoon Posts: 2,078 ✭✭
    That is just awful! I hope it is a big flop and does not happen here. Since when is PayPal the only accepted legal tender? I am no expert, but it sounds almost illegal in some way.
  • Options
    PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,511 ✭✭✭✭✭
    This will hurt eBay if they try to force people to use paypal. Is it time for yahoo or google to come up with an auction venue to give eBay some competition?

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.

• Options
    PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,511 ✭✭✭✭✭

<< <i>That is just awful! I hope it is a big flop and does not happen here. Since when is PayPal the only accepted legal tender? I am no expert, but it sounds almost illegal in some way. >>

They will do it under the guise of protecting the sellers and buyers from fraudulent transactions.

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.

• Options
    ebaytraderebaytrader Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭

<< <i>This will hurt eBay if they try to force people to use paypal. Is it time for yahoo or google to come up with an auction venue to give eBay some competition? >>

I dunno why you think it has to be an internet heavyweight. Yahoo did the math and figured they'd make more from pure advertising. I'd bet Google has peeked at those numbers and shaken their heads too. A good plan is a good plan. It doesn't take millions of $ to do it.

<< <i>They will do it under the guise of protecting the sellers and buyers from fraudulent transactions. >>