Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

1980-81 Topps Basketball card question

Hello Everyone,

I'm a newbie here and is getting back into collecting after about 25 years. I wanted to get serious about it and only start collecting graded cards and grade some of the cards that I kept over the years. I also wanted to start back into the hobby and get my sons interested because I loved it during my childhood. I have the Bird/Dr. J/ Magic card, but it has been separated. The cards seem to be in pretty good condition, but I was wondering if they are worth anything at all? I look forward to interacting / learning on the message boards, it seems like things have changed quite a bit....LOL. Thank you in advance for any help.

Mike

Focusing on Julius Erving cards 1972-87 for now

Comments

• Options
    slum22slum22 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭✭
    Welcome aboard Mike. To answer your question about separated 1980-81 basketball cards. Their worth in monetary terms is likely very minimal. In the current market the cards need to be intact, unseparated, to be worth a significant amount to most buyers out there. Still a cool card to have, even in its separated state.

I got back into collecting after a 20+ year hiatus myself about a year and a half ago. I am also introducing my young son to the joys of collecting. There are a lot of great people on the boards here and I think you'll find the interactions here enhance your enjoyment of the hobby. It is nice to have another basketball card collector on here (at least it seems like you are based on your post). Good luck with your collecting.
    Steve
  • Options