Home Precious Metals
Options

Just Noticed, Silver Closed Today Below $14!

Although I am a rare coin expert, and my knowledge of bullion is limited, I am surprised by the current fall of silver bullion to below $14 per ounce, shortly after severe terrorist attacks in Paris. In April or May 2011, silver reached around $48 an ounce, if I remember correctly. Do members of this forum wish to comment on this matter? Am I the only one who is surprised?

"In order to understand the scarce coins that you own or see, you must learn about coins that you cannot afford." -Me

Comments

• Options
    BAJJERFANBAJJERFAN Posts: 30,987 ✭✭✭✭✭
    bulliondirect.com has it closing at $14.19 Wonder where CW got their number.
  • Options
    VanHalenVanHalen Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Originally posted by: BAJJERFAN

bulliondirect.com has it closing at $14.19 Which site do you cite?

Kitco's at $14.19 as well. The OP is likely a day or week early. It sure looks like $13 is coming this winter.

• Options
    Originally posted by: VanHalen

bulliondirect.com has it closing at $14.19 Which site do you cite?

Kitco's at $14.19 as well. The OP is likely a day or week early. It sure looks like $13 is coming this winter.

I didn't see any place where it closed below $14. Did it even dip that low?
  • Options
    chumleychumley Posts: 2,305 ✭✭✭✭
    I started collecting when silver was $18 2007ish?been quite a ride since then
  • Options
    cohodkcohodk Posts: 18,621 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Am I the only one who is surprised?

I don't show it under 14, but no, I'm not surprised. Bubbles often result in 70+% corrections. I think some even postulated that probability a few years ago.
    Excuses are tools of the ignorant

Knowledge is the enemy of fear

• Options
    piecesofmepiecesofme Posts: 6,669 ✭✭✭
    $10 oz silver is coming by May '16.

I remain focused on only buying collectable silver bars.
    To forgive is to free a prisoner, and to discover that prisoner was you.
  • Options